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business when it
comes to protecting
our children. The law
requires many people
who work or volunteer
with children to get
their clearances.

Are you one of them?

Go to www.KeepKidsSafe.PA.gov.

Find out if you need clearances.

Apply online. Getting clearances is
easier and less expensive than ever.

Paid for with Pennsylvania taxpayer dollars.

Images are used for illustrative purposes only.
Any person depicted is a model.
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WHO NEEDS CHILD
ABUSE CLEARANCES?

* An employee of child care services.
» A foster parent.
* A prospective adoptive parent.

* A self-employed provider of child care services
in a family child care home.

* Anindividual 14 years of age or older who is
applying for or holding a paid position as an
employee with a program, activity or service as
a person responsible for the child’s welfare or
having direct contact with children.

— If the program, activity or service is an
internship, externship, work-study, co-
op or similar program, only an adult
applying for or holding a paid position
with an employer that participates in the
internship, externship, work-study, co-
op or similar program with a school and
whom the employer and the school identify
as the child’s supervisor and the person
responsible for the child’s welfare while the
child participates in the program with the
employer must obtain the certifications.

* Any individual seeking to provide child-care
services under contract with a child care facility
or program.

School employees governed by Section 111 of
the Public School Code.

School employees not governed by the Public
School Code with the exception of certain
employees of an institution of higher education
whose direct contact with children through the
course of employment is limited to prospective
students visiting a campus operated by the
institution of higher education; or matriculated
students who are enrolled with the institution.

An individual 18 years of age or older who
resides in the home of a foster parent for at
least 30 days in a calendar year or who resides
in the home of a prospective adoptive parent
for at least 30 days in a calendar year.

An individual 18 years of age or older who
resides for at least 30 days in a calendar year
in the following homes which are subject to
supervision or licensure by the department
under Articles IX and X of the act of

June 13, 1967 (P.L.31, No.21), known as

the Public Welfare Code:

— A family living home.

— A community home for individuals with an
intellectual disability.

— A host home for children.

> This does not include an individual
with an intellectual disability or chronic
psychiatric disability receiving services
in a home.

Volunteer adults applying for or holding an
unpaid position as a volunteer with a child-
care service, a school, or a program, activity or
service as a person responsible for the welfare
of a child or having direct volunteer contact
with children are required to obtain child abuse
clearances. A few examples:

— Chaperones for schools

— Church Sunday school teachers
— Little League coaches

— Boy/Girl Scout Leaders

WHERE DO I REQUEST
CLEARANCES?

www.compass.state.pa.us/cwis

The Pennsylvania Child Welfare Portal is a
secure government website that will allow
you to apply and/or verify your clearance
status online. Paper submissions are
acceptable for anyone who may not have
access to the internet.

www.epatch.state.pa.us

You may request your clearance through the
PA State Police web-based computer
application called Pennsylvania Access To
Criminal History (PATCH) by going online
or downloading a Request Form.

www.pa.cogentid.com

The Pennsylvania Department of Human
Services is utilizing Cogent Systems to
process fingerprint-based FBI criminal
background checks. For more information
and to begin the registration process, go to
www.pa.cogentid.com//index_dpw.htm.






