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Foster Parents, Prospective Adoptive Parents and Adult Household Members
Frequently Asked Questions

Who needs certifications?
e Afoster parent.
e A prospective adoptive parent.
e An individual 18 years of age or older who resides in the home of a foster parent for at least 30 days in
a calendar year or who resides in the home of a prospective adoptive parent for at least 30 days in a
calendar year.
NOTE: For the purposes of certifications, prospective adoptive parent includes those seeking approval
(prospective) and those approved awaiting placement of a child into their home (pre-adoptive).

Foster and prospective adoptive parents must submit their certifications prior to their approval.

Adult household members of foster, prospective and pre-adoptive parents must submit their certifications
at the time they reside in the home for at least 30 days in a calendar year. This provision applies to any
youth age 18 or older placed in foster care in the home.

Any individual over 18 years of age who begins residing in the home of an approved foster or adoptive
family, and has resided outside of the commonwealth at any time within the previous five-year period,
must, within 30 days of beginning residence, submit a Child Abuse certification or its equivalent in each
state in which they have resided within the previous five-year period. This provision applies to any youth
age 18 or older placed in foster care in the home.

In accordance with § 2530 (relating to home study and preplacement report) of the Adoption Act, 23
Pa.C.S., Chapters 21-29, updated Child Abuse, PSP and FBI certifications are also required prior to a child
being placed in the home by an adoption agency or intermediary if certifications are more than a year old.

Which certifications are needed?
Foster and prospective adoptive parents and adult household members must obtain the following three
certifications:
e Report of criminal history from the Pennsylvania State Police (PSP);
e Child Abuse History Certification from the Department of Human Services (Child Abuse); and
e Fingerprint based federal criminal history submitted through the Pennsylvania State Police or its
authorized agent (FBI).

Can | wait until July 25, 2015 to request a child abuse history certification?
Certifications must be submitted prior your approval as foster or adoptive parent.

What is the renewal requirement for certifications?
Beginning July 1, 2015, clearances must be obtained by foster and pre-adoptive parents and their adult
household members who reside in the home for at least 30 calendar days in a year every 60 month:s.

Previously, foster parents and their adult household members were required to obtain clearances every 24
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months.

NOTE: Adoptive parents who are not planning to adopt in the future do not need to renew their clearances
every 60 months.

How much do the clearances cost?
From now until July 24, 2015:
e The Pennsylvania State Police (PSP) criminal history certification costs $10
e The Child Abuse certification costs $10
e The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) federal criminal history certification costs $25.75 through the
Department of Human Services (DHS)

Beginning July 25, 2015:
e The PSP criminal history certification costs $8
e The Child Abuse certification costs $8
e The FBI federal criminal history certification costs $25.75 through DHS

Is the Department of Human Services reducing the fee for the FBI certification?
No. The FBI sets the majority of the cost for this fee. The remainder of the fee covers the costs incurred by
DHS, PSP, the vendor which processes the certification, and the fingerprint location.

I requested a child abuse history certification prior to July 25, 2015. Am | able to get a $2 refund for the
reduction in cost of the certification?

No. Unfortunately, DHS is unable to issue refunds for the $2 difference in payment of child abuse history
certifications that were processed before July 25, 2015.

Who pays for certifications?

The applicant is responsible for paying the cost of the required certifications. However, some agencies
choose to pay for these certifications and are able to establish business accounts to pay for certifications.
The only time an agency is required to bear the cost of the certifications is when there is reasonable belief
that the foster, prospective or pre-adoptive parent or adult household member was arrested or convicted
of an offense that would deny approval or is named as a perpetrator in an indicated or founded report. In
these situations, the agency must immediately require the individual to obtain their certifications.

Can an agency or organization pay for certifications?

Child Abuse certifications:

Yes, agencies and organizations can pay for Child Abuse certifications by registering for a Business Partner
User account using the “Organization Account Access” link on the Child Welfare Portal,
www.compass.state.pa.us/cwis. The business account will allow organizations to purchase Child Abuse
certification payment codes to be distributed to applicants or employees. Individual applicants or
employees will then go onto the Child Welfare Portal to apply for the certification using the code. The pre-
purchased codes can only be used once and allows the organization to have access to the applicant’s Child
Abuse certification results once those results are processed.
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FBI certifications:

An agency pay agreement/business account can also be created between an organization and the FBI, or
its authorized agent, for payment of FBI certifications. Information on creating an agency pay agreement
for FBI certifications through the Department of Human Services can be found at
https://www.pa.cogentid.com/index dpwNew.htm.

PSP certifications:

An agency business account can be requested from the Pennsylvania State Police to pay for certifications
in bulk by calling 1-888-783-7972 and selecting option 6. Organizations are, also able to pay for an
applicant’s PSP certification on an individual basis by using a credit card if applying online or submitting a
paper check if applying by mail.

Will there be a new process to obtain a certification?

No. The process to obtain child abuse and criminal history certifications will remain the same. The Child
Abuse and PSP certifications will continue to be applied for and paid for electronically. When indicating the
purpose of the certification, the applicant will continue to indicate foster care or adoption.

All necessary instructions and links to apply for these certifications can be found at -
http://www.dhs.state.pa.us/findaform/childabusehistoryclearanceforms/index.htm.

The PSP website will be altered to reflect the waiving of the fee. In addition, new forms will be available to
download from the website.

Are there any other requirements?

If a foster, prospective , pre-adoptive parent or an individual over 18 years of age residing in the home is
arrested for or convicted of an offense that would constitute grounds for denying approval or is named as
a perpetrator in a founded or indicated report, the foster, prospective or prospective adoptive parent
must provide the foster family care/adoption agency with written notice not later than 72 hours after the
arrest, conviction or notification that the individual has been listed as a perpetrator in the statewide
database.

Foster parents and prospective adoptive parents must report any other change in the family household
composition within 30 days of the change for review by the foster family care/adoption agency. If any
individual over 18 years of age, who has resided outside this commonwealth at any time within the
previous five-year period, begins residing in the home of an approved foster family or a prospective
adoptive family and their Child Abuse certification from Pennsylvania or any other state they have lived in
within the previous five-year person shows that the person is named as a perpetrator within the previous
five-year period, the foster family care/adoption agency shall forward the certification to the department
for review. If the department determines that the person is named as the equivalent of a perpetrator of a
founded report within the previous five-year period and the person does not cease residing in the home
immediately, the county agency must immediately seek court authorization to remove the foster child or
children from the home.

A foster, prospective or pre-adoptive parent who willfully fails to disclose information as required above
commits a misdemeanor of the third degree and shall be subject to discipline up to and including
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disapproval.

What certifications are needed to place a child in the home of a caregiver on an emergency basis?

As it relates to children being placed in foster care, there are situations in which a child can be placed in
the home of a caregiver on an emergency basis pending full approval. Child Abuse and PSP certifications
on all adults who will serve as an emergency caregiver must be completed. An expedited FBI certification
cannot be completed, however all emergency caregivers must follow the process outlined by the
Department for submission of an FBI certification.

The requirements are outlined in the Office of Children, Youth and Families Bulletin Number 3140-04-
05/3490-04-01 entitled “Child Placements with Emergency Caregivers” and must be completed prior to
the child being placed with the emergency caregiver. The full bulletin can be accessed at
http://www.dhs.state.pa.us/cs/groups/webcontent/documents/bulletin_admin/c _130645.pdf.

As it relates to children being placed in a home for the purposes of adoption, an interim placement may be
permissible only in full compliance with § 2530 (c) of the Adoption Act.

Is the use of a third-party vendor to process certifications acceptable?

Third-party vendors may be used to process Child Abuse, PSP and FBI certifications using the steps
established above. They are not permitted to conduct background checks or certifications through other
databases in lieu of the steps outlined above. In addition, agencies remain responsible for the approval
decision based on the information obtained.

Is the agency required to keep a copy of my certifications?

Yes, pursuant to § 6344 (b.1), the employer, administrator, supervisor or other person responsible for
acceptance of the individual to serve in any capacity requiring clearances, shall maintain copies of the
required information and require the individual to produce the required documents prior to acceptance to
serve in any such capacity, except for limited periods as outlined above. An employer, administrator,
supervisor or other person responsible for approval decisions that intentionally fails to require an
applicant to submit the required certifications before the applicant’s approval commits a misdemeanor of
the third degree.

Agencies are reminded that the Child Abuse certification information is confidential and may not be
released to other individuals.

Can an agency or organization institute additional standards?
Yes, nothing prohibits the employer or person responsible for a program, activity or service from making
approval decisions or establishing additional standards.

Can my certifications be transferred?
Yes. If the certifications are current, you may use your certifications to:
e to apply for employment;
e to serve as an employee;
e to apply as a volunteer; and
e to serve as a volunteer.
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However when transferring clearances; prior to beginning new employment or service, an employee must
swear or affirm in writing that they have not been disqualified from employment or service under section
6344(c) or has not been convicted of an offense similar in nature to a crime listed in section 6344(c) under
the laws or former laws of the United States or one of its territories or possessions, another state, the
District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico or a foreign nation, or under a former law of this
commonwealth.

Can | use a child abuse history certification or PSP criminal history | obtained for foster/adoptive

purposes for volunteer purposes?
Yes, if you obtained a certification for foster/adoptive purposes within the previous 60 months you may
use the certifications to serve in a volunteer capacity for any program, activity or service.
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