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FOSTER/ADOPTIVE PARENTS
F R E Q U E N T L Y  A S K E D  Q U E S T I O N S

Who needs clearances?
• A foster parent.	
• A prospective adoptive parent.
• An individual 18 years of age or older 
who resides in the home of a foster parent 
for at least 30 days in a calendar year or 
who resides in the home of a prospective 
adoptive parent for at least 30 days in a 
calendar year.
NOTE: For the purposes of clearances, 
prospective adoptive parent includes those 
seeking approval (prospective) and those 
approved awaiting placement of a child 
into their home (pre-adoptive).  

Which clearances are needed?
Foster and prospective adoptive parents 
and adult household members must obtain 
the following three clearances:
• Report of criminal history from the 
Pennsylvania State Police (PSP);
• Child Abuse History Clearance from the 
Department of Human Services (Child 
abuse); and
• Fingerprint based federal criminal history 
submitted through the Pennsylvania State 
Policy or its authorized agent (FBI).
Foster and prospective adoptive parents, 
or any individual over 18 years of age 
residing in the home, who have resided 

outside of the commonwealth at any 
time within the previous five-year 
period must also obtain a Child Abuse 
clearance obtained within the previous 
one-year period or its equivalent in 
each state the person has resided within 
the previous five-year period.

When are clearances needed? 
Foster and prospective adoptive parents 
must submit their clearances prior to 
their approval.  

Adult household members of foster, 
prospective and pre-adoptive parents 
must submit their clearances at the time 
they reside in the home for at least 30 
days in a calendar year. This provision 
applies to any youth age 18 or older 
placed in foster care in the home.

Any individual over 18 years of age 
who begins residing in the home 
of an approved foster or adoptive 
family, and has resided outside of the 
commonwealth at any time within 
the previous five-year period, must, 
within 30 days of beginning residence, 
submit a Child Abuse clearance or 
its equivalent in each state in which 

they have resided within the previous 
five-year period. This provision applies 
to any youth age 18 or older placed in 
foster care in the home.
In accordance with § 2530 (relating to 
home study and preplacement report) 
of the Adoption Act, 23 Pa.C.S., 
Chapters 21-29, updated Child Abuse, 
PSP and FBI clearances are also 
required prior to a child being placed 
in the home by an adoption agency or 
intermediary if clearances are more 
than a year old. 

What is the renewal requirement 
for clearances? 
Beginning Dec. 31, 2014, clearances 
must be obtained by foster and pre-
adoptive parents and their adult 
household members who reside in the 
home for at least 30 calendar days in 
a year every 36 months. Prior to Dec. 
31, 2014, foster parents and their adult 
household members were required to 
obtain clearances every 24 months. 

NOTE: Adoptive parents who are not 
planning to adopt in the future do not 
need to renew their clearances every 36 
months.  
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How do I obtain my clearances?
The Child Abuse, PSP and FBI clearances 
can all be applied and paid for electronically. 
The FBI clearance also requires a fingerprint 
submission. All necessary instructions 
and links to apply for these clearances can 
be found at www.keepkidssafe.pa.gov/
resources/clearances/index.htm.

Is the use of a third-party vendor to 
process clearances acceptable?
Third-party vendors may be used to process 
Child Abuse, PSP and FBI clearances using 
the steps established above. They are not 
permitted to conduct background checks or 
clearances through other databases in lieu 
of the steps outlined above. In addition, 
agencies remain responsible for the approval 
decision based on the information obtained.

How much do the clearances cost?
• The PSP clearance costs $10
• The Child Abuse clearance costs $10
• The FBI clearance costs $25.75 through the 
Department of Human Services  

Who pays for clearances?
The applicant is responsible for paying the 
cost of the required clearances. However, 
some agencies choose to pay for these 
clearances and are able to establish business 
accounts to pay for clearances. The only time 
an agency is required to bear the cost of the 
clearances is when there is reasonable belief 
that the foster, prospective or pre-adoptive 

parent or adult household member was 
arrested or convicted of an offense 
that would deny approval or is named 
as a perpetrator in an indicated or 
founded report. In these situations, the 
agency must immediately require the 
individual to obtain their clearances.

Can an agency or organization 
pay for clearances?
Child Abuse clearances:
Yes, agencies and organizations can 
pay for Child Abuse clearances by 
registering for a Business Partner 
User account using the “Organization 
Account Access” link on the Child 
Welfare Portal, www.compass.state.
pa.us/cwis. The business account will 
allow organizations to purchase Child 
Abuse clearance payment codes to be 
distributed to applicants or employees. 
Individual applicants or employees 
will then go onto the Child Welfare 
Portal to apply for the clearance using 
the code. The pre-purchased codes 
can only be used once and allows the 
organization to have access to the 
applicant’s Child Abuse clearance 
results once those results are processed. 

FBI clearances:
An agency pay agreement/business 
account can also be created between 
an organization and the FBI, or its 
authorized agent, for payment of FBI 
clearances. Information on creating 

an agency pay agreement for FBI 
clearances through the Department of 
Human Services can be found at www.
pa.cogentid.com/index_dpwNew.htm.  

PSP clearances:
An agency business account can be 
requested from the Pennsylvania State 
Police to pay for clearances in bulk by 
calling 1-888-783-7972 and selecting 
option 5. Organizations are, also able 
to pay for an applicant’s PSP clearance 
on an individual basis by using a credit 
card if applying online or submitting a 
paper check if applying by mail.

Are there any other 
requirements?
If a foster, prospective or pre-adoptive 
parent is arrested for or convicted 
of an offense that would constitute 
grounds for denying approval or is 
named as a perpetrator in a founded or 
indicated report, the foster, prospective 
or pre-adoptive parent must provide 
the foster family care/adoption agency 
with written notice not later than 72 
hours after the arrest, conviction or 
notification that the person has been 
listed as a perpetrator in the statewide 
database.  

Foster parents must report any other 
change in the foster family household 
composition within 30 days of the 
change for review by the foster family 
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care agency. If any individual over 18 
years of age, who has resided outside 
this commonwealth at any time within 
the previous five-year period, begins 
residing in the home of an approved 
foster family and their Child Abuse 
clearances from Pennsylvania or any 
other state they have lived in within the 
previous five-year person shows that 
the person is named as a perpetrator 
within the previous five-year period, the 
foster family care agency shall forward 
the certification to the department for 
review. If the department determines that 
the person is named as the equivalent 
of a perpetrator of a founded report 
within the previous five-year period 
and the person does not cease residing 
in the home immediately, the county 
agency must immediately seek court 
authorization to remove the foster child 
or children from the home. 

A foster, prospective or pre-adoptive 
parent who willfully fails to disclose 
information as required above commits 
a misdemeanor of the third degree and 
shall be subject to discipline up to and 
including disapproval.

What clearances are needed to 
place a child in the home of a 
caregiver on an emergency basis?
As it relates to children being placed 

in foster care, there are situations in 
which a child can be placed in the home 
of a caregiver on an emergency basis 
pending full approval. Child Abuse 
and PSP clearances on all adults who 
will serve as an emergency caregiver 
must be completed. An expedited FBI 
clearance cannot be completed, however 
all emergency caregivers must follow 
the process outlined by the Department 
for submission of an FBI clearance. The 
requirements are outlined in the Office 
of Children, Youth and Families Bulletin 
Number 3140-04-05/3490-04-01 entitled 
“Child Placements with Emergency 
Caregivers” and must be completed 
prior to the child being placed with the 
emergency caregiver. The full bulletin 
can be accessed at http://bit.ly/2iJxmFy.

As it relates to children being placed in 
a home for the purposes of adoption, an 
interim placement may be permissible 
only in full compliance with § 2530 (c) 
of the Adoption Act. 

Is the agency required to keep a 
copy of my clearances?
Yes, pursuant to § 6344 (b.1), the 
employer, administrator, supervisor or 
other person responsible for acceptance 
of the individual to serve in any capacity 
requiring clearances, shall maintain 
copies of the required information and 

require the individual to produce the 
original documents prior to acceptance 
to serve in any such capacity, except for 
limited periods as outlined above. An 
employer, administrator, supervisor or 
other person responsible for approval 
decisions that intentionally fails to 
require an applicant to submit the 
required clearances before the applicant’s 
approval commits a misdemeanor of the 
third degree.

Can an agency or organization 
institute additional standards?
Yes, nothing prohibits the employer, 
program, activity or service from making 
approval decisions or establishing 
additional clearance standards. 

Can my clearances be transferred?
Any person who obtained their clearances 
may transfer or provide services to 
another subsidiary or branch established 
and supervised by the same organization 
during the length of time the person’s 
clearances are current.  

NOTE: When a foster, prospective or 
pre-adoptive parent seeks approval with 
a new agency, institution, organization 
or other entity that is responsible for the 
care, supervision, guidance or control 
of children new clearances must be 
obtained.


